Kitten!!

So, um, I have a cat now. Her name is Luna. She’s adorable, and affectionate, and a little mischief maker.

 

Photo on 11-28-13 at 9.29 AM

 

I wish I had more pictures of her, but she’s not super willing to sit-still. Also she’s way cuter in person.

 

So anyway, how did I come by this little fluffy one?

 

Cats are not so beloved in Ecuador. Little Luna here was gifted to a friend’s host family a few weeks ago. The family, well, especially the parents and the grandmother, hated the cat with a burning passion. They had some interesting ideas about cats as well. I.e. Cats will give you asthma, the family will become allergic to the cat as she grows, etc.

 

They officially started looking for a new home for her, but I was worried that they would chuck her out on the street any minute. I tried asking some other PCV buddies if they wanted her, but a lot of them still live with host families, and the host family’s reaction was somewhere along these lines:

The more I thought about it though, the more I wanted Luna. She’s playful, cute, low maintenance, and very lovable. Besides, a full-time animal might do me some good. Now, I’ll finally have someone to play Jenga with!

 

I picked her up yesterday, and the family made a show of how much they would miss the cat and how much they loved her. They told me to bring her around now and then. I don’t think they meant it, but they did send her to her new home with some rice, like any good ecua cat. Also, kitty really needs to be broken of her eating-people-food-off-of-plates habit. We’re working on it.

 

She is already such a fancy kitty for Riobamba. She has a real litter box with real litter, a food and water dish with real cat food and boiled water, nail clippers, and a hair brush. So fancy. On monday afternoon I’m taking her for her shots and to see what else she may need. Now I just need to find her a top hat and monocle, obviously.

 

 

Coming soon– a post about my first Ecua Thanksgiving (and my first turkey cooking experience!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kitten!!

  1. laurenhock13 says:

    I love that they sent her with rice!

  2. Shaina says:

    But Megan…. is having a kitten really that much better than our pet chinches?

Leave a comment